Floor Monster- Logo - reviews

Floor MonsterReviews

: 818Excellent

4.63

Trustmark
Valid

with Buyer Protection

Trustmark
Valid

with Buyer Protection

certified since: 04/03/2014
updated on: 05/07/2022
Floor Monster is checked and certified according to the Trusted Shops quality criteria
  • Verified identity
  • Protection of personal data
  • Clear ordering process

Secured by a guarantee

At Floor Monster, you can use the guarantee from Trusted Shops and protect up to £2,500. Find out more


certified since: 04/03/2014
updated on: 05/07/2022
Floor Monster is checked and certified according to the Trusted Shops quality criteria
  • Verified identity
  • Protection of personal data
  • Clear ordering process

Secured by a guarantee

At Floor Monster, you can use the guarantee from Trusted Shops and protect up to £2,500. Find out more

Reviews for Floor Monster

83 verified reviews in the last 12 months

818 total reviews
This is how we ensure that reviews come from real consumers.

the most relevant positive review


8 months ago
I had a few queries before ordering and each answered in a timely and helpful manner. I requested a sample and also that was received in a timely manner. I ordered the Lecco Brushed Whitewashed engineered oak flooring and underlay. It arrived when stated and although I was not aware at the time, it came one pack short which turned up a couple of days later which was great that they rectified this without my even knowing about it! Each pack came with multiple length sizes as stated on the product page. We found one board longer with the rest shorter in each pack. We did have a few warped boards in the packs (even though stored flat since delivery 2 weeks before) and that made laying a little trickier trying to click it in. Our new floor is all laid now and looks great. They also said they would take back any left over full packs if needed (minus the delivery costs. Not sure if we are going to do this or use elsewhere at this time but it is good that the option is there. Overall happy with the product and the service provided.
Report review

Show all positive reviews

the most relevant critical review


5 months ago
Not giving a customer the option of having the delivery put in garage or in porch is a disgrace. I am registered disabled and I had to argue with the driver to walk 10ft up my flat driveway as his instructions were to leave the large pallet on curb side only !? Only after discussing the issue with customer service and getting very upset on the phone did the young man agree to wheel my order inside. Ridiculous procedure leaving me humiliated and frustrated !!!
Report review

Show all critical reviews

Reviews for Floor Monster

Filter 
 Sort by Relevance 
(2)
 Verified review
5 months ago
Not giving a customer the option of having the delivery put in garage or in porch is a disgrace. I am registered disabled and I had to argue with the driver to walk 10ft up my flat driveway as his instructions were to leave the large pallet on curb side only !? Only after discussing the issue with customer service and getting very upset on the phone did the young man agree to wheel my order inside. Ridiculous procedure leaving me humiliated and frustrated !!!
Report review
Answer by Floor Monster
5 months ago
Hi Julie, We can see from our records this is your 6th order from us and as always I'm afraid deliveries are kerbside. We are happy we were able to interject and get the driver to bring the packs closer to the property as they presumably have accomodated in the last orders. Thanks
 Verified review
1 year ago
Communication with the delivery was very poor. (1) Delivery arrived a day early resulting in repeated calls to me at work. (2) The delivery company did not use the correct mobile number for contact - repeatedly calling me again then complaining about it, (3) We were not advised that the product would be left in the street on a palette - my 71-year-old mother had to lift it indoors alone!
Report review
Answer by Floor Monster
1 year ago
Hi, thanks for your feedback. As per the website, all deliveries are kerbside delivery only. As per our emails to you, we provided an eta on the day and unfortunately, the new number for contact although was sent on to the haulier, was provided too late for them to upload on their system to the driver hence they had to use the original contact number.