mountfieldlawnmowers.co.ukReviews

: 866ExcellentCertified

Details
Contact
mountfieldlawnmowers.co.uk- Logo - reviews
mountfieldlawnmowers.co.uk- Logo - reviews

Categories

mountfieldlawnmowers.co.uk - The UK's Bestselling Lawnmowers

Founded in 1962, Mountfield is the bestselling manufacturer of petrol lawnmowers in the UK. From the latest battery powered electric lawnmowers, to petrol roller mowers, 4 wheeled mowers, lawn riders and ride on lawnmowers we have a mower to suit every garden. As well as lawnmowers, we manufacture a comprehensive range of powered garden machinery, included the latest lithium-ion cordless garden tools. Visit the Mountfield website to find our more about our products and also locate your nearest authorised Mountfield specialist dealer.
Contact
Stiga LTD
Unit 8 Bluewater Estate, Bell Close
PL7 4JH Plymouth, Devon
United Kingdom
Trade register
Companies House 01074935
Authorised representative
Will Timmis

Reviews for mountfieldlawnmowers.co.uk

4.70/5.00
Excellent
How is the rating calculated?

303 reviews in the last 12 months

85 %
8 %
3 %
1 %
3 %
866 total reviews

What other customers say about their experience with mountfieldlawnmowers.co.uk

2 months ago
My mower was faulty on delivery - looked as though it might have been damaged in transit. I failed to get through to your Customer Services - reduced staff, etc - and so contacted your nearest dealer to me, Culverwells in Robertsbridge, who have been brilliant so far and a replacement mower is due for delivery this Thursday.
 Verified review|
3 months ago
Sent the wrong item!!
 Verified review|
mountfieldlawnmowers.co.uk- Logo - reviews
mountfieldlawnmowers.co.uk- Logo - reviews
 Answer by mountfieldlawnmowers.co.uk
2 months ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. You ordered a spare part and our apologies if you believe you have been sent the wrong item. Our contact centre have tried to call and email you but have been unable to get hold of you to ensure that the correct part can be sent to you. If you are able to contact them they will be happy to help you.
3 months ago
I haven’t received the order or any notification of when it will be delivered.
 Verified review|
mountfieldlawnmowers.co.uk- Logo - reviews
mountfieldlawnmowers.co.uk- Logo - reviews
 Answer by mountfieldlawnmowers.co.uk
3 months ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we can only apologise for the delay of your Garden Tractor delivery. I believe the local dealer has now contacted you and is going to deliver today.
4 months ago
Asking me for my views when I have no idea where the goods are which I purchased won’t end well. I called the store you said it would be dispatched from, they don’t have the goods. Emailed you chasing and no reply, yet. How do I rate you, 0/10 as I don’t have what I bought from you, yet.
 Verified review|
4 months ago
We order a mower told that it would be despacted a.s.a p only to be told that our order would not be sent due to the coronavirus and timescale, but we were not worried about timescale
 Verified review|
4 months ago
Mountfield selling stock they don't have. Customer service is take it or leave it. Told I may get my goods sometime next month when they finally get some stock delivered. No confidence or belief in anything they say. I will never use Mountfield again or recommend them to anybody.
 Verified review|
mountfieldlawnmowers.co.uk- Logo - reviews
mountfieldlawnmowers.co.uk- Logo - reviews
 Answer by mountfieldlawnmowers.co.uk
4 months ago
During these exceptional circumstances we are processing website sales as quickly as we can, however we have seen a huge increase in online sales which has had a serious affect on our staff and distribution abilities. Our customer services did contact you on the 7th April to apologise for any inconvenience caused and to explain the issues we have had with stock levels.
4 months ago
Rating should be 0!! AWFUL. Ordered on line. Company took money. 5 days later sent email advising me product out of stock. Refund accepted. Company has lost my trust.
 Verified review|
mountfieldlawnmowers.co.uk- Logo - reviews
mountfieldlawnmowers.co.uk- Logo - reviews
 Answer by mountfieldlawnmowers.co.uk
4 months ago
During these exceptional circumstances we are processing website sales as quickly as we can, however we have seen a huge increase in online sales in a very short period outside of our ‘norm’. Unfortunately, we have had a website glitch which has shown stock as being available and a few customers have been able to process an order for stock which had actually sold out. Please accept our apologies
5 months ago
Order cancelled and refunded but no contact from company about cancellation despite an email asking for an explanation!
 Verified review|
mountfieldlawnmowers.co.uk- Logo - reviews
mountfieldlawnmowers.co.uk- Logo - reviews
 Answer by mountfieldlawnmowers.co.uk
5 months ago
Thank you for your review. We can only apologise for the service you have received. Unfortunately we had a technical issue that allowed us to receive orders for this product when in actual fact it was out of stock - this has since been rectified. We are working extremely hard to ensure everyone receives their orders during this lockdown and I am sorry that we did not contact you immediately.
5 months ago
Since receiving the order confirmation there has been no further contact with me. This may be due to COVID19, but that is not an excuse for lack of information/updates.
 Verified review|
1 year ago
I would like to carry out a review but sadly I have still not recieved my item that I purchased.
 Verified review|